2014 Queensland Club Championships
The Queensland Paragliding (club) Championships are back again this year.

Congratulations to last year's winner Matts Eliasson. A very deserving pilot, who has shown his dedication and participation over many years of the Queensland Championships.

The format this year is casual and inclusive. We had a great turnout last year from a range of pilots from those just wanting to fly with their mates, try a new site, or the seasoned salts looking for big distances. It is more about a social flying than making points though.

Rounds will be held in Killarney and Canungra. The 8 days of Canungra cup will also be combined to arrive at the final score to award our champion.

Although each of the two days of each round will be scored , only your best day score from each round will count toward your total.

  • Round 1: 17/18 May, Killarney
  • Round 2: 19/20 July, Canungra
  • Round 3: 16/17 August, Canungra
  • Round 4: 13/14 September, Toowoomba
I am being kindly assisted by Dave Gibbs (organization) and Ashley McMillan (scoring). I will send out more details closer to the time as we get a view of the weather, along with safety registration details.
-- Ian McFarlane
Canungra Cup
Sponsored by:
scenic rim council logo
The main annual competition organised by the CHGC is the Canungra Paragliding Cup, which is held from 27.9. - 4.10.2014.

Paragliding Weekend Series
This competition runs on most Saturdays and Sundays and is designed to encourage XC flying. If you want to get involved you just need to be on the hill on a Sunday, check in with the person organising the task for the day and submit your tracklog afterwards.

Please visit the highclouds competition page for further details as well as past results.

Current Canungra Site Records
  • Mt. Tamborine: Shane Hill 114km (2004)
  • Beechmont: Enda Murphy 325km (11.2007)
  • Flying Fox: Gavin Zahner 92km (29.10.2008)
  • Hinchcliffe's: Shane Hill 131km (14.1.2009)
  • Scotsman's: Ian McFarlane 72km
  • 4 Mile Lane: Brandon O'Donnell 46km
  • First crossing of Cunninghams Gap W-E: Phil Hystek (1995)
  • First crossing of Cunninghams Gap E-W: Andrew Horchner (2002)
  • Tandem Record: Ian McFarlane 43.5km (31.7.2011)
  • "Bolero" Record: Ian McFarlane 55km
Here are the flight tracks of some of these record flights:
  • Ian McFarlane + Passenger (31.7.2011) 43.5km from Beechmont on a Topo Map
  • Gavin Zahner (29.10.2008) 92km from Flying Fox on a Topo map (tracklog here)
  • Shane Hill (20.10.2007) 261km from Beechmont on a Road map and on a Topo map
  • Shane Hill (14.1.2009) 131km from Hinchcliffe: Track Log
  • Shane Hill (2004) 114km from Tambo on a Road map and on a Topo map
© az